Monday , September 25 2023
Home / Uncategorized / CANADA – A Non-Refundable $500 Fee for Immigrants takes effect on May 15th, 2017

CANADA – A Non-Refundable $500 Fee for Immigrants takes effect on May 15th, 2017


The Progressive Conservative government under Premier Brian Pallister wanted to improve the efficiency of the Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program (MPNP). And his one way to do that is to charge the Skilled Workers who are invited to apply to the program a $500 fee.

On April 27, 2017, it was announced that the Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program (MPNP) will begin charging a non-refundable $500 fee for skilled workers effective 9:00 a.m. CST May 15, 2017.

Furthermore, the MPNP Online application system will not be available May 14th, 2017 in order to complete technical changes.

The government says enhancements to the program will improve processing times and fast-track nominations to provide job-ready, skilled workers, including international students, with opportunities to build a prosperous future in Manitoba.

These are the promises of the Premier to the province from that cost:

  • A new labor market strategy for immigration will focus on “innovative partnerships with industry and post-secondary institutions” to better prepare and match newcomers with in-demand jobs.
  • Select workers “with high potential for early and strong attachment to the labor market” and who meet education, training and language requirements.
  • Select entrepreneurs with a strong potential to establish “high-investment, job-creating businesses” throughout the province
  • Eliminate the current program backlog by April and ensure future applicants are processed in less than six months.

Furthermore, Premier Brian Pallister said that the fee will only be charged when would-be immigrants have been accepted. The revenue, he said, will be “reinvested in helping other immigrants and refugees here in Manitoba.”



Immigrate Manitoba



About Zeena Mercado

Check Also


Impact-Site-Verification: 192e5c6f-bfe0-4c1a-8569-cc998a3c4e00